Eat Skull – “Dead Families” 7″


a: Dead Families
b1: If I’m Insane (Psycho Sin cover)
b2: No Intelligence

Label: Skulltones
Buy: Out of Print (repress soon)
Listen: Myspace

By now, you likely know the story on this single, so I’ll just sum it up quickly: “Meds” single released last year (300 fucking copies, now selling for around $50-$90 on eBay, which is stupid – repress these mofo’s!), blows minds… yadda yadda yadda, get signed to Siltbreeze, yadda yadda yadda, the “Dead Family” single gets released last month (again, 300 copies, but with repress coming soon!), sells out in one day, largely to people trying to flip their copy for $50-$90 on eBay… Many people convinced that the upcoming full length that Siltbreeze (coming in May??) is putting out this summer is going to blow this band on the stratosphere, possibly a “Best New Music” distinction on Pitchfork. Then the backlash (see: The Black Lips, and people who think that “Good Bad Not Evil” is their “worst” album, which it clearly isn’t); by this time next year it will be “Eat who??”

Perhaps I am getting ahead of myself here (as I am want to do), because with a band with this much hype (or, at the very least, the potential for this much hype; lets not forget that basically 600 copies of this band’s music exist in some objectified state right now, possibly with the overlap of people having both singles – 400 people have heard of this band right now??) For example, LastFM, which tracks people’s listening habit, lists a mere 266 people who have played this band on their computer. Yet, here is where this number gets very interesting – those 266 people have listened to the two singles that are available 1600 times, which means that, on average, people are listening to these singles at least twice over. Which, in today’s game, says something, right? The fact that people are actually willing to listen to your music vs. saying they do is a huge. I would guess that most (2/3) of the singles and LP’s that I have in my own collection have been listened to one time or less (with 1/3 making it into heavy rotation?). The reason is clear: there is just so much music out there, so much that is available to be discovered, and so much that is coming out every week that there just isn’t enough time to listen to all of these great bands, these great singles…

Which brings me full circle here: Eat Skull keep finding its way back onto my turntable. Forget about all of the other bands and singles I have paid lip service to on this blog, most of the ones that I claimed to love (again, with a few notable exceptions) have been ripped to my computer and filed away. This single seems weirdly resistant to that. It is weird, I feel compelled to keep playing it over and over. Sometimes I will do a few runs at the a-side “Dead Families” – which is blown out awesomeness, especially the shift near the middle to a lo-fi Motown-on-crack breakdown; Sometimes I spend some time on the flip side, with me fully admitting to my devotion for “No Intelligence” (which totally reminds me of Propeller-era GBV).

3 thoughts on “Eat Skull – “Dead Families” 7″

  1. but oddly enough, not a sinlge dead families 7″ has hit ebay, that I’m aware of. It’s too fucking precious to sell. Believe me, I need the money too, but nothing would allow me to part with this single. Dead Families was the song of the year the first time I heard it on Myspace, middle of 2007.

Leave a Reply

