Nodzzz – I Don’t Wanna (Smoke Marijuana) 7″

a: I Don’t Wanna (Smoke Marijuana)
b: We are the Only Animals
Buy from Rocket Reducer
Listen at Myspace

Nodzzz

This is one of the best things to hit my ear this year (2008 for those of you “unstuck in time”) comes out of nowhere with San Fran power trio Nodzzz. Their first run of these is already sold out – but hey, it takes a long time to get things up to Canada (though apparently, Rocket Reducer still has a handful of copies, so act now or forever hold your repress, which are apparently in the works).  This band has some buzz going for it right now in certain circles, and after finally getting my hands on a copy, I can understand why. This is really bouncy and “fun” (not the mandated kind, mind you), with a loose style reminiscent of Dead Milkmen meets The Modern Lovers. I think I am digging the b-side a bit more “We are the Only Animals”which is a little less novelty driven as “I Don’t Wanna (Smoke Marijuana),” which I am totally not buying. Highly reccomended.

One thought on “Nodzzz – I Don’t Wanna (Smoke Marijuana) 7″

  1. Agreed. I was comparing this to ‘Be kind, rewind’ in that it’s really uncynical and it wouldn’t work any other way. There’s something about the purity.
    Word up.

Leave a Reply

