Jeremy Jay – 3 Singles

a: Airwalker
b: We Stay Here (In Our Secret World)
Airwalker

a: We Were There
b: Beautiful Dreamer

a: Moonbeam Window
b1: By The River’s Edge
b2: Moonbeam Window 2
Moonbeam Window
Purchase from K Records
Listen at Myspace

I purchased these singles on spec after reading some glowing reviews, and spending some time with these singles is like a breath of fresh air. I’ve been getting deeper and deeper into the weird and the obscure that I have been shunning anything with a straightforward melody.  The first one I put on – the Airwalker single – is my favourite of the three. Really clean sounding, eschewing noise in favour of some light reverb and simple, catchy hooks. These singles all sound like Jeremy Jay is creating a nice little world of his own here – at times, he is crooning like an 50’s pop star, but at other times there is this strange frailty/hauntedness to his vocals that kind of reminds me of the calm parts of the early Suicide albums. Love this.  All three are still available directly from K Records.

These singles will appeal to those who are into that brilliant Devon Williams single of last year – both give me that same vibe of being lost in time (Incidentally, I am going to see Devon Williams in May when he is opening for Destroyer, though that has nothing to do with anything here).

2 thoughts on “Jeremy Jay – 3 Singles

  1. Wow, these sound great, I have to get the rest…I’m liking him more and more lately.
    The Devon williams single from LA record is great…those are two great tracks…

Leave a Reply

