ATP Records CONTEST (win some free Seven Inches!!)

Up for grabs:

1. (1) Copy of Fuck Buttons “Bright Tomorrow” Picture Disc 7″ (ltd. to 1000)

Fuck Buttons

2. (1) Copy of The Drones double 7″ (ltd. to 1000)

The Drones

Of the two of these, I was most excited for this single from UK duo Fuck Buttons , due in large part to the fact that it was recorded by John Cummings of Mogwai, and after putting this on, you can see exactly why. Fuck Buttons, for the uninitiated, sound like an electro-Mogwai, and for those of you who have been gradually becoming disinterested in Mogwai’s increasingly watered down sound (i.e. me), Fuck Buttons are the perfect remedy. This shit sounds like it could have been on Young Team. Really fucking good. They are on tour in North America with Caribou all throughout March and April, and this single convinced me that I really need to see that show.

The Drones are a different beast all together. I think I was initially turned off by this band because a while ago I went to their MySpace to check them out, and in their influences section they write:

Van Morrison or Dylan or Suicide or Bad Brains or Nina Simone or Black Flag or the Scientists or Ornette Coleman or Thelonius Monk or (australian)X or Townes Van Zandt or John Lee Hooker or Karen Dalton or Neil Young or Bela Bartok or Mingus or Al Green or http://www.ubu.com or blah blah blah

Influences are always a tricky beast, and I think people often get confused between “Influences” and “A list of bands that we like.” So using their list, here is what I hear as I listen to this single (again, based only on what I am hearing):

Van Morrison Yes
Dylan NO
Suicide NO

Bad Brains NO
Nina Simone NO
Black Flag NO
the Scientists NO
Ornette Coleman NO
Thelonius Monk NO
(australian)X NOT ENOUGH INFO
Townes Van Zandt YES
John Lee Hooker YES
Karen Dalton NO
Neil Young YES
Bela Bartok NO
Mingus NO
Al Green NO
http://www.ubu.com YES
blah blah blah YES

That said, I do enjoy Neil Young quite a bit, and this reminds me (sometimes) of Neil going off with Crazy Horse. so this gets a pass from me (plus: AMAZING artwork – gatefold sleeve… a beautiful artifact here).

Send me an email to quartermass AT gmail DOT com before SUNDAY at MIDNIGHT and I will randomly select a winner.

Leave a Reply

