The Road

So, everyone in 2007 (well, not everyone, but Oprah for sure) was going on about this book called “The Road” by Cormac McCarthy. It’s this book about this man and his son (eight years old-ish?) trying to survive in a post-apocalyptic world.

So, I read said book (can’t remember exactly when, maybe in August?), reading in two sittings, and it still hasn’t left me. I think about this book all the time. There are things in my head now that The Road placed there, and they won’t leave me. I dream about this book all the time (such as last night, and one other night this week), and these dreams are terrible dreams. I am haunted by The Road.

I am not going to give anything else away. I didn’t know much going into this book, and I was glad that I didn’t know. There are a few sections that I had to read a dozen times just to piece together what was happening, to fill in as much of the puzzle in my head as possible. You should read The Road to see for yourself.

I am three books deep into my book a week project for 2008. Reading a book called “The World Without Us” which is about what would happen to the world if humans dissapeared. I am scheduled for my candidacy for May, so I need to start reading for that asap.

4 thoughts on “The Road

  1. Actually, it’s kind of funny to those of us who have been reading McCarthy for years. The Road and No Country for Old Men are two of his weaker efforts. They are still excellent, but not in the same league as The Crossing or Blood Meridian.

  2. I’ll have to read some more of his then, I thought The Road was amazing. Perhaps the setting was especially resonant for me after so many years campaigning about climate change, nuclear weapons and other nasty stuff.

  3. Tommy is right; The Road & No Country are strong, but they don’t have the scope or ambition of Blood Meridian or even All the Pretty Horses. What’s interesting is why The Road and not other books received the Pulitzer Prize. Certainly, The Road is as close to “hopeful” as McCarthy has gotten; so perhaps he was being rewarded for that glimmer.

    I actually write about why, now, McCarthy-based projects are garnering awards. If interested, you can read it here:
    http://weeklyrader.blogspot.com/2008/01/extolling-mccarthy.html

  4. I know you’re busy, what with “teaching” and working on a “PhD,” but this place is a bore!

    Snap out of it, ya fuckin’ jerk!

Leave a Reply

