Pink Reason – S/T 7″

a: Throw it away
b1: Slate Train
b2: New Violence
Purchase re-press directly from Criminal IQ

French Sociologist Pierre Bourdieu has a bit in one of his books where he talks about “selection/evaluation” – in that, with so much coming at us, it is impossible to account for all of it, so we end up tuning out large chunks of information. Pink Reason is a great example of this. Times New Viking, a band I have been really going crazy over in the last couple of months are one of the four or five bands that have put out LP’s on Siltbreeze, alongside Psychedelic Horseshit (who I have also been getting into) and… Pink Reason. Then for some reason I am on Myspace (looking for the impossible to find Times New Viking/Psychadelic Horseshit tour only 7″), and both band’s “top ten friends” (or whatever) contain Pink Reason. I was just not seeing them for whatever reason. My selection/evaluation device was selecting and evaluating this out of my world.

Finally, someone off of the message board of people who used to be into Guided by Voices (don’t ask) posted a sendspace link to some Pink Reason mp3’s, and all it took for me to check it out was the following description: “a more traditionally musical version of Jandek’s atonal folk-blues” – and suddenly I have a new favorite band this week. I’ve spent a lot of time in the interim tracking down everything I could find (I like it when it isn’t easy, more fun that way – I just got word from trickknee that I just paid for their last copy of the “By a Thread” 7″). This 7″ especially – originally released in 2006 (but reissued this fall) is, if nothing, one of the most haunting, removed and compelling pieces of vinyl that I have heard in a long time.

Finally, last night, the Pink Reason myspace page had a bit about how the band was finished, but that blog post has been removed with a post about how one should “avoid winding up the sole member of your band. The in-fighting is much more trenchant and fierce when you’re alone.”

_______________________________

Thanks to all who entered in the Times New Viking contest; I am keeping all of the entries for an upcoming “Fuck Buttons” picture 7″ contest, so stay tuned for that.

Also, look for my “Top 7″ releases to waste your days tracking down” list on Friday.

13 thoughts on “Pink Reason – S/T 7″

  1. Thanks for the heads up on this, I have been overlooking them also. A few times I meant to check on this, I’m ordering that repress today. Jay reatard was one of those I recently got into also.

  2. the “by a thread” 7″ was done on trickknee and was not (as far as i know) repressed by criminal IQ. the record you’re reviewing here was the debut 7″ which kevin (pink reason) released under his own savage quality imprint. do see if you can find a “by a thread” record. it’s pretty aces. but i think sold out.

  3. Shit – I put the “By A Thread” in the title, though it is the S/T. Thats what I get for writing this in the middle of the night!

    I actually got the last “By a Thread” 7″ from the Trickknee dude… So good.

  4. “By a Thread” was a 500 press and sold out. The first one was 300 (Kevin) and then several represses through CIQ (I think it eventually sold around 1,000 total). These 2 45s and the debut LP are all from the same “source tapes” or time period. The upcoming Siltbreeze LP is all newer stuff, and is as good or better (to me) than the old stuff. Lots of stuffs.

  5. Pingback: Pink Reason - Seven Inches « Seven Ten Twelve

  6. Houston, TX – The Houston Texans signed Andre Johnson to a two-year obligation extension on Thursday, a buy that, according to the Houston Account, makes him the highest paid encyclopedic receiver in the NFL.

    Johnson, 29, led the NFL in receiving yards the matrix two seasons and had five years and $35 million remaining on his existing contract.

    The Chronicle reported the proportions to be advantage $38.5 million, including $13 million guaranteed. On average, Johnson inclination at the moment make $10.5 million per year over the next seven seasons, not including display incentives.

    “I on all occasions said I wanted to put on for one team, and to be able to depict recompense the Houston Texans in favour of my in one piece career is a tremendous honor,” Johnson said. “I usually said I wanted to be mainly of something festive, and I knew that coming to a altered organism, things were prospering to be a bantam jagged in the outset, and with it I have a hunch like things are enchanting that wheel for us.”

    The University of Miami-Florida product has spent his entire seven-year m‚tier in Houston after the Texans selected him with the third blanket pick in the 2003 NFL Draft.

    Johnson has recorded back-to-back 1,500-yard receiving seasons, including a 101-catch, 1,569-yard effort mould year. He also scored nine touchdowns in 2009 to up his fly comprehensive to 42 TDs in 102 games.

    “For the mould two years, no person has played to the on the up that this girlish valet has as long that I’ve been round, other than one other guy,” said mr big omnibus Gary Kubiak. “What he’s been doing has been certain, and there’s a collection more to come. So, that’s wealthy to be exciting.”

    He has caught 587 passes for the sake of 7,948 yards over the course of his career, moral two of the numerous confederate records he owns.

Leave a Reply

