Safetyword – Pope Joan/ Dandelion Clock 7″

a: Pope Joan
b: Dandelion Clock
Buy from Norman Records

Another day, another UK only 7″… I discovered Safetyword through Norman’s “single of the week” feature, and spent some time seeking out Mp3’s (before discovering that they have two EP’s for free at their website…), and I really like what I hear. I think the Beefheart comparisons are a bit of a stretch… this is jerky/jangly experimental pop, at times sounding to my ears like a tuneful Joan of Arc. Besides the good tunes, I am a sucker for inventive packaging, and am picking this up for that alone – I love finding interesting things with the tired old picture sleeve format. Limited to 400 copies and housed in a hand stamped wood cut sleeve. Looks nice.

Leave a Reply

