Of Montreal – Gender Mutany Tour 7″

a: Back to School (Royal Trux cover)

b: Subtext Read, Nothing New

So I pick up a copy of “Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer” at a particularly dark point of my year, and guess what – it is perfect. A concept album about having a nervous breakdown after a nasty breakup turned out to be exactly what I was looking for. So, as I do with every new discovery, I frantically search through the back catalog to find more of the same, and turns out I was right to ignore them up to now. The two album previous to this are decent, but everything before that is fairly weak.

This 7″ is from their “Gender Mutany” tour (limited to 1000), and you can buy it directly from Polyvinyl. The A-side is a Royal Trux cover, and the B-Side is a previously unreleased original. I’ve listened to this a few times, and the only thing that really excites me here is the artwork. The songs are decent, but they both take the same meandering psychedelics approach that, while pretty enough, isn’t very compelling.

Pitchfork ran an interview yesterday with Kevin Barnes which is worth reading.

Leave a Reply

