My Life in Books (2007 Edition)

I was just trying to remember every book I have read cover to cover in 2007. I figured: hey, great blog post idea! I did this last year as well.

1. Discipline and Punish – Michel Foucault

2. Pascalian Meditations – Pierre Bourdieu

3. Reassembling the Social – Bruno Latour

4. Cyberculture Theorists – David Bell

5. Linked: The New Science of Networks – Albert-Laszlo Barabasi

6. Empire and Communications – Harold Innis

7. Essential McLuhan – Marshal McLuhan

8. Propaganda – Jaques Ellul

9. Impure Science – David Epstein

10. The Body Multiple – Annemarie Mol

11. Internet Society – Maria Bakardjieva

11. The Wounded Storyteller – Arthur Frank

12. Virtual Methods – Christine Hine

13. Pierre Bourdieu – Michael Grenfell

14. Managing to Nurse – Rankin & Campbell

15. Theory, Sport and Society – Maguire & Young

16. The Pasteurization of France – Bruno Latour

17. The Road – Cormack McCarthy

18. 1984 – George Orwell

19. The Stand – Stephen King

20. The Walking Dead – Book 5

21. The Walking Dead – Book 6

22. The Zombie Survival Guide

Working on or to be finished by the end of the year:

23. Brave New World – Huxley

24. Neuromancer – William Gibson

25. Genesis and Development of a Scientific Fact – Ludwik Fleck, . University of Chicago Press.

26. Science and an African Logic – Helen Verran

27. The Social Construction of What – Ian Hacking

28. The Gum Thief – Douglas Coupland

In other words, my goal to read one book a week this year was off target. By half. I read countless papers over the summer for my prospectus, so maybe that makes up for it? Or perhaps I am putting too much emphasis on the “book” in the digital age?

There is just something about reading a book from cover to cover that makes me feel well read, what ever that means. Just because I read articles all day (both related to my work and not), it still feels like these don’t add up in the same way. I can quantify my book tally; telling you how many articles I read, magazines devoured… who knows?

Does it make any difference? What keeps us measuring our time in this way? Is it an antiquated notion to associate books with literacy?

12 thoughts on “My Life in Books (2007 Edition)

  1. Pfft…I can read The Stand in a day if i wanted to…after reading it 5 times in my life i can skip massive sections cause i know whats going to happen. Thats not the same as “reading a book”!!!

  2. ‘The Stand’ is almost exactly the length of the Good News Bible (seriously, I checked). I have a feeling they both probably end in a similar way, too; Revelations, some horsemen, Death and Destruction…… I need to get that thing finished so that it doesn’t dominate my carry-on bag!

  3. I’m with Mark on this one…if you’ve already read it the book, it don’t count. No matter how much you like Stephen King.

  4. I agree, if you learn something new every time you read a book its as good as reading it the first time.
    This Good News Bible what is it?

  5. The work involved in reading a book like the Stand is still the same as reading anything else.

    Plus, it took me like three weeks to get through, and if I would have known it didn’t count, I wouldn’t have bothered…

  6. Peg: The Good News Bible is the version that I grew up with. There are tonnes of “versions” of the Bible, but for some reason it was the one we had kicking around my house. It is big, and has extra books in it that Catholics believe in, like the Apocrypha and such. Here’s a link that explains it better than I ever could (we Catholics aren’t very Bible-y): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Good_News_Bible

  7. my freebie bookmark from the library says no one reads the same book.
    We all read it differently.
    Even when we reread, we have a different experience each time.
    Or as Bruno Latour says citing a proverb, you cant jump in the same river twice….

Leave a Reply

