Partying like its 1996

Today I did something in Downtown Lethbridge that I hadn’t done since 1996… I put up a shit load of gig posters on light-poles, in stores, and any flat surface that I could find. There I was, getting yelled at by shop owners, getting harrassed by homeless people (though, to be fair, one dude that was wasted out of his mind decided he wanted to help me, so he followed me around for 20 minutes and held them up so I could tape. This was fine, until his homeless buddies started harrassing him “Who’s the new girlfriend.”

I also went to the pub that we are playing at “Jesters” to give them posters and talk shop, and my MOM happened to drive by. I got a phone call asking if there was anything I needed to “discuss,” seeing as how I was going into a shitty dive-bar at 2 in the afternoon.

Jesters is not nearly as nice as Tongue and Groove. Just thought I would put that out there. Though I mostly had miserable experiences at the T’nG, I am thinking that this new venue will lead to nothing except heartache for everyone involved. It was so… I don’t know… hostile? We’ll see how it goes.

6 thoughts on “Partying like its 1996

  1. Holy crap…that brings back some memories. Remember postering downtown for P4, JIL, Wagbeard and Chixdiggit shows? Remember when half the bands wouldn’t show up? hehehe. Ah, the good old days.

  2. All moms have the same timing as yours. It could’ve been midnight, and you could’ve been there to meet a friend or whatever, and Aunt Pat would’ve driven by making an emergency pharmacy run or something. I think it’s known as Murphy’s Law.

Leave a Reply

