In which John Hodgman reads 700 Hobo Names

I love this: 700 Hobo Names (be sure to check out the illustrations while you’re at it!)

On my travels between Calgary and Deathbridge, I have been listening to an audio copy of John Hodgman’s The Areas of My Expertise. When I am done with it, you can borrow it if you like!

The full title of this book is:

An Almanac of Complete World Knowledge Compiled with Instructive Annotation and Arranged in Useful Order by Me, John Hodgman, a Professional Writer, in the Areas of My Expertise, which Include: Matters Historical; Matters Literary; Matters Cryptozoological; Hobo Matters; Food, Drink, & Cheese (a Kind of Food); Squirrels & Lobsters & Eels; Haircuts; Utopia; What Will Happen in the Future; and Most Other Subjects; Illustrated with a Reasonable Number of Tables and Figures, and Featuring the Best of “Were You Aware of It?”, John Hodgman’s Long-Running Newspaper Novelty Column of Strange Facts and Oddities of the Bizarre

I find myself chuckling a lot, and does a good job at passing the time quickly on these long, tedious drives (for example, in reference to only having two references to sports, Hogman deadpans “for more information on sports, turn everywhere else in our society”).

I am out the door, and I am going to try not to crash my car that I just spent $2246.91 on. Or maybe I will, because I just spent $2246.91 to fix my car.

3 thoughts on “In which John Hodgman reads 700 Hobo Names

  1. I have that book. I can’t even imagine how it’s done in an audio version.

    My favourite part of it was the “jokes that aren’t funny”, which was ironically hilarious.

  2. I used to play 700 Hobo Names on my radio show! I would play the whole thing continuously but only fade it in and out every once in a while between songs. I didn’t know there were illustrations, though!

    I’ve been trying to find audio versions of books by John Hodgman, or David Sedaris, or maybe even Chuck Klosterman to feature on my show, but no luck so far.

Leave a Reply

