Robot Jokes from McSweeney’s / Band of Horses

While taking a break from thinking about starting on my deviance paper, I found something hilar on McSweeney’s website: “Jokes Made By Robots, For Robots” by J. Alex Boyd:

“Waiter! Waiter! What’s this robot doing in my soup?”
“It looks like he’s performing human tasks twice as well, because he knows no fear or pain.”

What’s a robot’s favorite cereal?
Rob-os.
(Note: Rob-os are made of the tears of human children.)

A robot walks into a pharmacy. The pharmacist asks him if he’d like anything. The robot replies, “A soul.”

Why did the robot order a milkshake?
To blend in with the general human population, making it easier to infiltrate society and—in time—conquer it.

________________________________

I haven’t posted any Mp3’s in a while:

<- band of horses

Back in August, I wrote about the Band of Horses album Everything All the Time, and how good it was. Three months later, and it has only grown on me. To the point where I think that it may in fact be my favourite album of 2006 (though we will see about that… I still haven’t decided).

Download: Weed Party
“Weed Party” is a good example of what I love about this band. The song is deadly simple – the lyrics don’t go anywhere, the song structure doesn’t go anywhere – and yet it seems huge. There is an emotional complexity, an achingness that exists in what isn’t being said.
I got you arrested because
The party come and gone
I am about to.. to set this off
Until weed party’s dull
The wine is there to keep yourself
You got it wrong

We are only getting part of the story, and I have no idea what any of this means until the second verse where it becomes clearer that the song is about that time in your life when everything becomes too much, so escape is sought through becoming invisible in the social; going to parties instead of going for coffee, interacting without interaction.

So I brought you plexi thoughts
And words were at a loss
It’s a good day to skip because
The party’s gonna call

I also really dig the hook near the end of the song: don’t you ever listen at all?

Indeed.

2 thoughts on “Robot Jokes from McSweeney’s / Band of Horses

  1. Also, during the part of the BoH mp3 I downloaded, there is a line “It’s a good day to skip” then the song skips to the end, and the song ends.

    Is that supposed to happen?

Leave a Reply

