Insert: Tragically Hip // Quote: “It’s not the band I hate / It’s their fans”

It could have been the Willie Nelson, or perhaps it could have been the wine, but after many years of disinterest in The Tragically Hip, I think I have come full circle.

You see, when I was in the fourth Grade, my family moved to a little city in Manitoba entitled Brandon. Now, Brandon at the time (mid 80’s) was a run down, shitty little place that lived inbetween Regina and Winnipeg, and acted as the storm drain for both (not literally). I liked it there – it was my first exposure to a comic book store, which I used to ride my bike to all the time and drool at the comic books that were kept behind glass.

More importantly for me was the fact that Brandon had access to MuchMusic, something that was completely alien to me at the time. I was obsessed with it, and frequently pretended to be sick so that I could stay home and watch it all day (hi Mom!).  This was one of the key developing factors in my lifelong love of popular music.

What was cool about MuchMusic (in the day) was that they used to actually play music videos (except for that one gameshow they had hosted by Dan Galager(sp), which was like a cross between “Rock and Roll Jeopardy” and the Gong show) . On top of that, they used to play weirdo videos all the time – (remember that video for “Fish Heads?”)


My two favourite video’s at the time were two Canadian ones: The Pursuit of Happiness’ “I’m An Adult Now” and The Tragically Hip’s “New Orleans is Sinking,” (which, when I think about it now, is still one of my favourite video’s , specifically for the part the bum drinks the fish bowl water, and may have accidently swallowed the gold fish).

In grade four I used to say that my favourite band was the Tragically Hip were my favourite. Then I discovered hip hop; alternative: punk:  hardcore: emo: indie: jazz; The Beach Boys… I got very far away from the Hip, and yet I find myself back where it all started.

You see, I never esisted The Hip:I have been aware of their new stuff here and there, I even saw them live once. I just never felt the urge to buy a cd or even download some songs. I just didn’t ever really think about them. Perhaps it was their fan base (Canadian Hip fans, in general, tend to be a tad mookish, not unlike American Dave Mathews fans)? Probably.
Last week I heard the new single, “In View” and I like it a lot. Yesterday, when I was in a cheapie used CD store, I found the two disk “Yer Favourites” compilation, and felt compelled to buy it and catch up. I have been listening to it non-stop since. There is a higher quality than I remember a lot of songs having. As well, I am hearing some songs for the first time, and a high number of them are blowing my mind a little.

Thus: Tragically Hip, I am back. Where should I hang my jacket?

9 thoughts on “Insert: Tragically Hip // Quote: “It’s not the band I hate / It’s their fans”

  1. I’ve abandoned the Hip. I got excited about them about 15 years ago and would listen to them constantly. I haven’t listened to much of their new stuff in the last several years. Maybe I should start again.

  2. Im glad to see that you have (re)discovered the hip !
    Come in, come in, come in.
    If you need any MP3’s, or wold like to borrow an album or two you need only to ask.

    ~tony

  3. It’s hard to explain exactly what it is about them that evokes such love and devotion, but after seeing them live six or seven times you can clearly see that it’s pretty common in their fans. At times this is a problem; I’d rather hear Gordie sing than 30 dudes around me shouting the lyrics to “Grace, Too” for the eighth show, and the band gives the fans what they want by playing these hits. After all these years they seem to actually be getting better, and Gordie live is just amazing. If you have the chance go see them again. I doubt you’d be disappointed. If you come across “Phantom Power” (1998) buy it. Perhaps their finest overall album, including an absolutely beautiful song called “Escape Is At Hand for the Travellin’ Man”. It’s about a chance encounter Gordie had with Jim Ellison of Material Issue before he committed suicide.

  4. I wish the hip would just stop making music. I foud them mildly amusing when “Up to here…” came out in 88 (or whenever it was???). It kind of rocked, at the time. But since then they just kinda got lame, old, and boring.
    And the worst part is that you can’t turn on the radio without hearing somehing from their catalog. I basically gave up on radio alltogether because of them and Nickelback.
    I learned to dispise the hip in the 90’s, while in university… every idiot in my residence inisted on playing them nonstop morning noon and night!
    I have some firends who are still fans… but most people I know (even the hard core, diehards) lost interest in them a long time ago.
    I just don’t get it. Their music is just boring and anti-climactic. They seem like nice enough guys and all… but they should really throw in the towel! Enough already!!! My ears can’t take another boring album about irrelevant Canadian happenings!

  5. Did you really put the Hip and nickleback in the same sentance?!?

    The Hip are one of the few bands that look after their fans. With this in mind, if you weren’t a big fan to begin with you’re not likely to be won over. Like ’em or not they are TRUE rock and roll and it’s a dying breed.

    Long live the Hip.

  6. Did you really put the Hip and nickleback in the same sentance?!?

    The Hip are one of the few bands that look after their fans. With this in mind, if you weren’t a big fan to begin with you’re not likely to be won over. Like ’em or not they are TRUE rock and roll and it’s a dying breed.

    Long live the Hip.

    “we don’t go to Hell just our memories do. And if you go to Hell I’ll still remember you”

Leave a Reply

